You Know You’re An Arab When…

A friend sent this to me today….LOVE it!….applies to me 95%! It's sooo disturbingly true!

You Know Your Arab When…… (only arabs will get this)

You have a Sitto always cooking for you

You go to Arabic Resturants, tell the owners your Arab, and think you're
going to get free food.

You fight over who's going to pay the bill

You act like you want to pay, but in reality you hate to pay

You would never call it Pita Bread

you know what the debki, a hafli, and a derrbakki is/are

You say "bolice" and "bastor" for "police" and "pastor."

You smoke as if it were your last day on earth…and you only smoke Marlboro.

You cook a meal that lasts 3 days.

Your father swears at you with words that effect himself (Ibnil Kalb). (so true)

You have 500,000,000 cousins.

Your relatives alone could populate a small city.

At weddings it takes the bride and groom 4 hoursto kiss all the guests

You have a gold necklace of your name written in Arabic.

Your middle name is your father's first name.

If you are male, you're named after your grandfather or great-grandfather.

You play cards till the break of dawn.

You can't have a meal without bread.

You never run out of bizzer. (seeds)

You get offended when Americans call Arabic bread "Pita bread"

You teach your American friends Arabic word (mostly bad ones) and get happy when they use them in normal conversations.

Your Mom has a creative nickname for you like "Natoosheh," or "Tuntooneh."

You have a difficult Arabic name so you come up with an Americanized version of it like "Sam" or "Mike."

You have someone tell you your fortune through your coffee cup.

You love Um Kalthoom and if you don't, your dad makes you listen to her and tries to translate the words into English so you can appreciate her as much as he does.

You get really happy and call the whole family to the room when there is a special or documentary on Arabs or anything Arabic related on CNN or PBS.

You bump Arabic music at all times

Your dad eats mensef with his hands and forces his son to "join the men

You or your relatives own a grocery store, liquor store, restaurant, or gas station

You eat hummus at least 4 times a week

You watch the hell out of Arabic Satellite

You own and/or play the tubleh

Your favorite food is wara' dawali, but you are embarrassed to tell your friends that you ate leaves for dinner (for those of you who don't know what wara; dawali is its grape leaves)

You make Turkish coffee before leaving home to work, at the office, before lunch, after lunch, when having guests, before the guest leave, after the guests leave and before you go to bed.

You still have stored suitcases of clothes that you used to wear when you were five.

Everyone is a family friend.

If you are 25 and unmarried, your parents make you feel that you are getting old.

You ask your dad a simple question, and he answers by telling the story of how he used to walk miles just to get to school

You hug and kiss relatives you have never seen before in your life.

You curse at your teachers or strangers in Arabic.

You have to constantly remind your American friends to take off their shoes when they enter your house

You flip out when someone mistakes you for a Mexican or Indian.

You can spot an Arab a mile away and they have spotted at you because they keep staring.

After a family meal, the women fight to the death over who should wash the dishes while the men sit on their behinds and discuss politics, waiting for their tea.

Your mother yells at the top of her lungs to call you to dinner even if you're in the next room.

You have at least thirty cousins.

You have a 4 cousins, an uncle, a brother-in-law and 7 friends named Mohammed.

You arrive one or two hours late to a party and think it's normal. …all arabs are late- all the time!

You are standing next to the largest suitcases at the Airport.

You talk for an hour at the front door when leaving someone's house.

You say bye 17 times on the phone.

When your parents meet strangers and talk for a few minutes, you discover they know one of your uncles back home.

Your parents don't realize phone connections to foreign countries have improved in the last two decades, and still scream at the top of their lungs when making long distance calls.

You're walking out of customs with your trolley at the airport and you see at least twenty-five members of your family who have come to pick you up.

You go back to your parents' country and people treat you like a member of…the royal family.

Your parents drink 6 cups of tea a day

You've had a shoe thrown at you by your mother (not true but its funny)

~ by amytalk on June 6, 2006.

105 Responses to “You Know You’re An Arab When…”

  1. hey.. am lebanese..so go the arabic in common.. i was looking for a song on line..so wrote the word arabic after it.. i got a link to u’re page…came in and read it..damn i had a laugh..nyways.. yeah i cant aggree more on sum of those things.. :P..nyways buby
    flutty

  2. shu? how u doin?? bro its fkn tru ay? you should add shit about lahme..

  3. Omg.. this also applies to me!! its soo freakishly true! i read it and was like 0_0… damn arabs rockk.. oh, im palestinian… so yeah..

  4. holy shit.. the lahme… damn… i dont think they get enough lahme.. at barbeques.. “KODI!! YALA KOLE!!!”

  5. oh my god i am palestinian, this is so damn true

  6. OMG THATS SOO TRUE I AM LEBANEASE AND SYRIAN! THASTSS SCARY HOW TTRUE IT IS LMAO ARAB ANF DAMN PROUD

  7. Hahahaha…I am Palestinian and laughing because this is true!!

  8. I got on this site by searching for an arab song.
    Indeed, in my case (I’m a moroccan) 75% of what’s mentioned above is true and I’m damn proud of it!!! Greetings from Belgim

  9. holy shit..ive had a shoe thrown at me so many times…that is so true though. lol i luv being arabic.

  10. I am Egyptian and this is true to a perfect sense. And funny because it is so true.

  11. its all true, trust me even the “had a shoe thrown at you by your mother”
    love it 😛

  12. soo true lol

  13. this is so accurate! i love this as much as I love Turkish coffee and mahshi aeneb! :-p

  14. this is true arabs are dumb

  15. im palestinian and omg this is SO SO true it’s almost scaring me cus i dont notice these things hah

  16. SO TURE!! My mom has throw a shoe at me. My mom does yell for dinner but only if I take a while.

  17. lmao this is so true! haha i’m egyptian and iraqi wooooow that is funny! i luv wara’ dalwali! hehe proud arab hell yea!

  18. everything that is up there is all true lol lol also when you ask your parents for a quwstion liek can i go out they give you a 45 minute lecture on there past shit and u dun cre. also true lol wen ur leaving someones house they do speak for an hour and yet they screan at u to get ready yu can hve tea and watcha movie and they still will be talking lol. ARABS ROCK

  19. LOL im syrian and me n my friend were laughin at this!! this is 110% true. dude its rly scary

  20. HEY GUYYS OMG LMAO I AM LIKE SOOO TOTALLY CRACKING UP THIS IS SOOO SOOO TRUE. HEHEHE ARABS R THE BEST DUDDEEEES!!!…by the way i need your help..can somebody please tell me how to break the news to my dad that i am gay :$ ..he will disown me, as well as my family, includin my bros and sis . i am a let down to some arabs apparently..but i am proud no matter what, love u all my brothers and sisters. PEACE OUT – A- Town…love you till death my baby boy george khoury we ride together till the end babe

  21. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  22. hahaha dis is so funny! scary thing is..its all TRUEE!! im libyan..n its all true,everything said there! lol my mom tried throwin a shoe at me yesterday =D

  23. Ha true in so many ways, i hate that word Pita Bread lol, Only thing I do differently is I make my name even more complicated for laughs of mispronunciation

  24. whats up its moejoe your damn right its all true i get a shoe thrown at me 100 times but by my brother.right more things about us arabs we rock arabs rock arabs rock arabs rock arabs rock

  25. whats up can i have more bizzer

  26. its me again so when are u going to give me bizzer i want my bizzer please please please

  27. i love lahmee agine

  28. YEE tzakarit BIZIR lahza jeey 😛 !!!!!!!!!

  29. so many common things with greeks man!! i have 500000000 cuzins too and they all have the same name xD

  30. OMGGGGG hahahahhahaha, im Iraqi and this is sooooo true! “bit il kelb!” rofl or “wallahi, your becoming so americanized!” 😀 now im going to go eat some bizzer and have some tea. :]

  31. hahahahahah im afghan but 905 OF DAT GOES 4 US TO

  32. HAHAHA. TRUEEEEEEEEEE<3 I’AM PALESTINIAN!

  33. haha thats so f-in true

  34. Oh my God !! haha !!
    this was soo true !!
    yah and only if you are arab you understand this

  35. Hahaha Im Lebanese And That Is So Damn True
    I Love Being Arab 😀 😀

  36. wow… i am palestinian, that is so true everything listed has happened or been done in my family lol xD

  37. hahahahahahahahaha. this is sooooo funny because its true. Im Palestinian and arabs rule. Especially the ones about food and family, wait, thats pretty all of them!
    🙂

  38. hahaha every single thing is like truee
    wow this is one stereotype that actually right
    lol Arabs rockk!!

  39. OMG THIS IS SO TRUE LOL

    It either applies to me or my fsmily, lol.

    I am palestinian too haha
    wogs & arabs 4 lyf.

  40. go arabs
    this is so true
    and funny.
    ❤ palestine

  41. Lol. So true! I am Yemeni and I loved reading this =]

  42. wow this is hilarious and true
    and the part where if you ask your dad a simple question
    he tells you about how would walk miles to get to school or would climb the mountains everyday and it wouldnt be a problem for him loooool
    ahahahah

  43. hahaahahahahaah this is so true!

  44. wallah i think this relates to me lol haha! all arab are the same and its awesome! Go palestine!

  45. you should add this one “You blame the yahood for everything”
    but everything is soo true lmaooo

  46. I read this and started laughing its so true(soimetimes)

  47. Oh my god this is so true! I’m Lebanese and half the things on that list apply to me! Thats amazing! jezz and the thing about that if you ask your dad a simple questing and he replies with a long story of his childhood; that happens to me all the time! i never get a real answer! rofl! Go Arabs!!!! 🙂

  48. LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL…read this a few years ago..on another site…read it again…NEVA GETS OLD!!..HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    also…fe shey bint hon bida titjawaz?? =P…if u can read that..write bak ;P lol im 18 n in australia if anyone wants to know =P

  49. arabs fTW

  50. LOL
    im PALESTINIAN
    palestinians are the best in the damn worlddd.
    haha, that gave me a gud laugh still. but honestly this shit is truueee.
    Yallah, may palestine stay strong (H)

  51. ay wdf im palestinian and i related 2 most of this shii… wallah 3jeeb…shows dat were unique yallah ya 3rab u shuld add summin about bab al7ara or la7me =)

  52. OMG ur a berawiya….so am I lol this was so tru

  53. LOL i was laughing soo hard. this is halarious cuz its true. It soo true when when your Dad swears at you but its like he is swearing himself ( you know : ya bint ell kelb).. LOL but you should have written something about how all arab boys gel their hair, work out their chest and eat like a crazy pig.

    BTW im Palestinian. I LOVE PALESTINIAN

  54. ^ srry about the mistake
    LOL i was laughing soo hard. this is halarious cuz its true. It soo true when when your Dad swears at you but its like he is swearing himself ( you know : ya bint ell kelb).. LOL but you should have written something about how all arab boys gel their hair, work out their chest and eat like a crazy pig.

    BTW im Palestinian. I LOVE PALESTINE

  55. this is all so true its freaking me out! Im a total Arab.
    ARABS RULE!

    P.S
    im iraqi

  56. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

  57. WOW most of this relates 2 me, I’ve read it several times and it NEVER gets old. you should’ve put something in about LAHME tho

  58. my email id zalkifal_khan@yahoo.com

    add me

  59. LOOOOOOOOOOOL VERY FUNNY SOOO TRUE!!!

  60. […] so far to You Know You're … When. Here goes…You know you're Australian when…Canadian when…an Arab when…British when…Italian when…Japanese when…Chinese when…German when…Russian […]

  61. […] when… (via kae)Canadian when…Arabic when…British when…Italian when…Japanese when…Chinese when…German when…Russian […]

  62. lmfaaoo all this is true…im lebanese and im damn proud of ittt…this is how us arabs roleee lmfao

  63. hahaha 100000000% true .
    i’m kuwaiti ❤
    arabs rule!!
    =]

  64. LEBANESE ! mann so truuue [;

  65. OMG!!!! this is soooooooooooo truee!!! I have had shoes and socks thrown at me milliond of timesss!!! 😉 Hahahahah

  66. Hey I got hit by my mom with a shoe! LOL!

  67. Freaky Azz!! :S whoever put this together must be PURE arab!! 😛

  68. yee itzakarit ilbizar 😛

  69. so true it appies to somalis too

  70. yo dont lie ive hd my mom throw a shoe at me its so true dont deny these people of our knowledge

  71. the story of my life
    i love bein 3arab/palestinian khalili

  72. This is so lame . But at the same time ,
    It’s making Arabs look bad .
    Like ;; Are you trying to say that my mom hitts me with a shoe ?
    Look , I think thats very offending .
    Stop making fun of Arabs.. * Rolling eyes *

  73. baahahahaa (: soo funnay…. nevaa getss oldd
    Ya Raytak Khreet Wa Ma Hkeet<<<< dad saiz datt sumtimez lol it cracks meh up

  74. sooooo true man.. i luv this!!! im from palestine..or balestine whatever u like :)))

  75. Palestinian, Alhamdullilah. I identified with 95% of all of this. We say “bye” 100 times before leaving a conversation and when Arabs are on television my mom either alerts me or my sister alerts her or I alert my mom. It’s good. For those who are offended, there are versions of this for other ethnicities as well, not just Arabs. It’s sort of an inside joke for Arabs, any other race who reads this won’t laugh because he/she hasn’t experienced it in the same way that we might not fnd a list like this for Italians or Japanese funny, because we might not have experienced some of what they have. Laugh and go on with your day people.

  76. find* I have a need to correct myself. And it’s also worth noting that the first comments as well as this whole list was established back in 2006, over four years ago. Crazy.

  77. haha! im arabic and this is sooo true! but you should add to your list-That when your parents or family members say “i love you” it sounds like a huge argument!

  78. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…
    most of it troth

  79. […] this, and laugh at how much this relates to my life and then compare it to this, and remember why my […]

  80. Haha I was shocked when I read this cause im Palestinian. GO ARABS!!! BTW fuck that kooliy guy 😡

  81. Dude. I LOVEE THISS.
    I just read it to my dad and he cracked up xD
    anyway..
    SYRIANS AND ARABS FTW! 😀

  82. SOO TRUE!!! IM ARAB/PALESTINIAN AND I THINK THAT IS SOOO FUNNY! MY DAD IS ON ALL NIGHT GIVING ME LECTURES ON A SIMPLE QUESTION! AND HE DRINKS SHI ALL NIGHT!

  83. OHHHHHHH MEHHHH I AM LEBANESE BABYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND SOO FKN PROUD AND ALL THOSE THINGS R SOOO TRUE I WAZ CRACKIN UP HELLLLLLL YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA LEBANESEEEEEEEEEEEEEE RULE AND ROCK AND EVERYTHING THE BEST HELLL YAAAAAA NICE 😀

  84. LMFAO LOL….. THIS IS SO FREAKIN TRUE LMFAO I CANT STOP LAUGHING 😛 ARABZ R SUCH AWSOME PPL FUK OUR HATER

  85. PPL CALL US TERORISTZ!!!!! NIGGA IF WE WERE TERRORESTZ YALL WOULD HAVE BEEN DEAD BITCHZ!!!!! 😛 LUVE THIS SO MUCH

    MUZLIM PALESTINIAN 4 LIFE BITCHZ!!!!!

  86. Was at an Arab b-b-q and I was reading this into a microphone and everyone started to crack up laughing. BTW I’m Jordanian

  87. Hahahahahaha damnnnnn it so true!!!! PALESTINIAN RYT HERE!!

  88. This is sooo true and its pretty amazing how we have Syrians, Palestinians, Egyptians, Lebanese, Iraqis, Kuwaitis, Jordananins, and me Yemeni on this thread and still have all these apply to each ethnicity. Makes us proud to be arab and all united at least in our traditions. But i gotta say I nvr had a shoe thrown on me lmaooo

  89. Holy crap this shit is hilariousssssss
    and mainly true..!

  90. Hey. Your article is amazing. You are right. Arabs are lazy.

  91. Thank you. Really useful.

  92. Lol so true!

    From qatar

  93. omg squared…that is so true…… I LOVE ARABS……PALESTINE foreva baybeeh……PEACE 2 every1..

  94. I’ve had a couple shoes thrown at me several times lol but seriously it’s all true, gotta love being arab!

  95. aawesomee!!

  96. You know ur Arabic when u gang up on ppl like me and watch girls like a hawk and act like a perv

  97. Lol not Arab but dating one (I’ve become part of the family and culture – masr) so lol so true XD especially him swearing at ppl in Arabic -.- he never tells me what he says 😦 this applies to me now .. the late part … Being German you’re never late …. Now I always am

  98. Half of these apply to ”you know you’re Pakistani when…”

  99. Haha I’m Egyptian Australian this is so funny and true!
    Even with the shoe one! (Except it was my dad)

  100. Lol hhhhhhhhh somalis and afghans aaint arabs wtf bs im an arab and yeahh

  101. very stupid…. egyptians, libyans, syrians, lebanese… I was wondering since when are they even considered to be arabs?

    العروبة في وادي وهم في وادي آخر وراء الجبال

  102. HAHAHAHAHA I am from Phalistine and am of Arabic cuture and that was said on this was completely relatable. And I’ll have you know I have had a shoe thrown at me by my mother, and if she wasn’t wearing a shoe, the closest item near her. Its a little weird but true and quite hilareous.

  103. Totally relates to me, even the last one. maybe a few of them don’t because im not arab, but im kurdish from turkey kurdistan. i definately have more than 1000 cousins and my relatives will probably fit into the whole of new york.

  104. The way ur perants are tring to find somewhere to have 3ada and u suggest McDonald or KFC or something and they r asking google or Siri for the direction the only reason it didn’t work is coz they say mgdonaldz and burgurayakinge

  105. Any one from Syria hahah this was amazing…ly true😂😂 😂😂

Leave a Reply

 
