My Untitled Poem

I wrote this poem the day before my birthday and the day before the “shock and awe” tactics on Iraq in March of 2004. It was also the second official day of the war on Iraq

LIFE SEEMS SHORTER THAN BEFORE

THE END IS NEAR

ROUND THE CORNER, I FEAR

AT THE EDGE OF MY SEAT WAITING FOR THE ALL CLEAR

SOMETHING, A SOUND

SOMETHING NOT AS LOUD

AS THE BOMBS

THE BOMBS YOU DROP ON ME

ON HUMANITY

THE WORLD IS AT ITS WITS

WAITING FOR THE MAN WITH A TON OF BULL _ _ _ _

BULL WANTS US ALL TO GIVE IN

GIVE IN TO HIS UNDEMOCRATIC HYPOCRITE

I WON’T GIVE UP

I WON’T GIVE IN

I WON’T SURRENDER TO THEIR GUNS

THE US AIN’T GOT NAUGHTIN ON ME

THEY AIN’T GOT NAUGHTIN ON US

I WON’T SURRENDER, I WON’T GIVE UP

YEARS FROM NOW, IF WE SURVIVE

WE WILL TELL OUR KIDS OF THESE HARSH TIMES

TIMES WHEN OUR GOVERNMENT COMMITTED SUCH CRIMES

CRIMES OUTTA HATE

CRIMES OUTTA GREED

CRIMES TO THE PEOPLE

YOU AND ME

I FEEL SUFFOCATED

I FEEL INSIGNIFICANT

POWERLESS TO THE GUNS

THEY USE TO THREATEN ME

TO THREATEN US

SOMEBODY SAVE US FROM THIS TYRANT

SOMEBODY SAVE US FROM THIS

TURNING US INTO HIS SLAVES

TURNING US INTO THE STEPPING STONES TO HIS LEGACY

WANTING SOMETHING OUT OF HIS STAY IN THE OVAL OFFICE

WANTING SOMETHING TO MAKE HIS NAME

FINISH UP WHAT HIS DAD CAME SHORT OF

FINISH UP THE OIL THEY ALREADY TOOK SO MUCH OF

ABUSING YOUR VOTES

VOTES FOR PEACE AND LOVE

INSTEAD WHAT WE GOT WAS HEARTACHE AND HATE

PICKING FIGHTS WITH ALL HE SEES

HE DON’T CARE ABOUT ANYBODY BUT HIMSELF

DRAGGING THE AMERICAN NAME IN THE MUD

ASHAMED OF HIM

ASHAMED OF HIS WAYS

HE IS THE TERRORIST

THAT NEEDS TO BE REMOVED RIGHT AWAY

THIS RACIST TEXAN

ABUSING THE ARABIC NAME

I AM LOUD

I AM PROUD

I AM NOT ASHAMED

OPEN YOUR EYES, SEE HIS CRIMES

HE IS TURNING US INTO HIS SLAVES

FOR HIM WE ARE ANTS

AN OBSTACLE TO OVERCOME

A LITTLE INSECT REPELLENT, WAR WILL DESTROY US ALL

THAT’S WHAT HE SAYS

THAT’S WHAT HE CLAIMS

THAT’S WHAT HE WANTS

WE AREN’T YOUR SLAVES

WE AREN’T YOUR BUGS

WE WON’T TAKE THIS

WE’VE TAKEN ENOUGH

WHERE DOES HE GET OFF

WHERE DOES HE GET THIS THOUGHT

THOUGHT THAT WE ARE NOT MUCH

WE WERE ONCE YOUR SUPERIORS

WHY HAVE YOU FORSAKEN US

TURNED YOUR BACK

POINTED YOUR GUN

THINK, CAN’T YOU SEE

SEE WHAT YOU’VE DONE TO ME

LIVING OUT OF FEAR

FEAR FOR HUMANITY

THINK OF GOD, THE LORD

WHAT WOULD HE DO

PROBABLY CONDEMN YOU

CONDEMN YOU FOR YOUR CRIMES AND THIS WASTE OF TIME

THE END IS NEAR

NO LONGER JUST A FEAR A FACT

WATCH YOUR TRACKS

WHO DIED AND PUT YOU IN CHARGE IS HOW THE SAYING GOES

NO ONE APPOINTED YOU TO PLAY THE PART OF THE LORD

I DIDN’T KNOW THAT WHEN THE US VOTED YOU

THEY VOTED FOR YOU TO RULE, RULE THE GLOBE

WHY DIDN’T I VOTE

WHY DIDN’T THE REST

YOU AREN’T OUR GOD

YOU AREN’T OUR BEST

NOTHING GOOD HAS COME OUTA YOUR STAY

WHEN WILL THIS ALL GO AWAY

THE END IS NEAR

IS THIS WHAT YOU WANT YOUR LEGACY

 

 

~ by amytalk on February 6, 2006.

5 Responses to “My Untitled Poem”

  1. I liked much your poem…it’s sad to live in a world in which we have to see the war!!!!
    I’m here to say hello and to say that in Italy there are the Olympic Games (I know that this it’s less,less important than the wars…but it’s something of the moment….at least something NICE one time!!!) I’ll be a fan for Italy and, surely, Canada…so I’ve put on my blog something about your first gold medal conquered by Jennifer Heils (Canadian…)and about Hockey women that have won against Italy!!!
    Bye…
    Titty 😀

  2. That’s the kind of poem I wish sometimes that I could write. I guess then I would be a rock musician! It is wonderfully done, full of fire and meaning that everyone, believe me, all over the world feels. And things like this will go down in history as the feeling of the times that need to be written and spoken loudly as often, as our own national anthem, but this is more of a world anthem.

  3. That’s the kind of poem I wish sometimes that I could write. I guess then I would be a rock musician! It is wonderfully done, full of fire and meaning that everyone, believe me, all over the world feels. And things like this will go down in history as the feeling of the times that need to be written and spoken loudly, as our own national anthem. This is more a world anthem.

  4. wow! Dave, that’s really sweet of you to say! the ultimate compliment coming from you! thanks:)

  5. […] […]

Leave a Reply

