Who Am I? Establishing Goals and Ambitions

So you’re probably wondering why I have yet to update you on the progress I am making with my aforementioned goals. Well, the truth of the matter is I haven’t been making an effort to achieve them so therefore there is no progress. I just can’t seem to get out of this foolish, unhealthy routine I’m in. I still want to become a better person in terms of how I take care of my body, my environment and my mind but it’s hard to keep these day-to-day things in check, and to make them a priority when I am so fixated on the “doing” aspect of life. 

 

This got me thinking about goals and priorities and the importance of knowing who you are and what you want out of life. I used to be the queen of the goals and the ambitions and the big dreams, but lately I have lost sight of that- the grand, yet detailed, vision one has of their future. I have instead maintained an image of a general and broad goal of a very successful and powerful career and, of course, the route to get there (i.e. what school to attend, what program to take etc.) but I have realized that that is simply not enough to ensure the kind of future, and the kind of life I want and the kind of person I want to be. 

 

So, I am now in the process of reflecting; reflecting on who I am as a person and what that means in the grand scheme of things. 

 

Below is something I wrote in my grade 11 World Religions course about what constitutes who a person is- their being. I think I will use what I wrote then as a guideline for deriving who I am and what is important to me. 

 

When my reflection is complete I will hope to formulate a personal vision of what I want my life to be like, what I want to get out of life and what I want to leave behind. This is more than a career goal,; it is everything that I am now and that I want to be in the future. I truly believe it is essential to come these conclusions soon because the sooner I know who I am and what I want the sooner I can achieve, give, and be that person and do those things. 

 

Who Am I? 

Written by ME in the 11th grade 

 

People have spent a great deal of time contemplating who they are. It is difficult for many to grasp their essence in a single way or phrase. Who one is, is based on the life they lead. This does not mean their status in life, their wealth or any other material things. But rather it refers to their outlook on life, their priorities and principles. Many assume that who they are has all to do with their preferred genre of music or movies, or whom they hang out with. However who one is extends far beyond these general categorizes. It goes as far deep as a person’s ethics and morals, which widely vary from one person to the next. Being conscience who one is relies heavily on a person’s upbringing. This includes ethnic back round, discipline, home life, community of residence, and religion. Another major component to assessing oneself is observing how one carries them self. For example, their confidence, demeanour, attitude, style, emotional stability etc. A person must also consider their perspective on life: where they want to go, who they want to be. By knowing what one wants out of life one can formulate a character that embodies all their traits and that is capable of achieving their goals. Another aspect of a human being, that defines who one is, is how one interacts with others. A person’s humanity is possibly the greatest aspect of their being that reveals the most about them. And finally, how one leads their life is the most significant way of knowing who that person is. It is one thing to harbour good-natured thoughts but it is another to follow through with them. After all these aspects of an individual are weighed and comprehended then that person can really fathom who they are. 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by amytalk on February 5, 2006.

2 Responses to “Who Am I? Establishing Goals and Ambitions”

  1. Добавил в избранное, очень интересно, спасибо.

    здесь видел ет gamebulletin.ru

  2. Your blog is pretty interesting to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of website managers are committing these 5 errors”. http://bit.ly/umqXgf You will be suprised how fast they are to fix.

Leave a comment