Super Bowl Flashback: The Realities of the Media Today

I was reminded today of something I wrote in the 10th grade, after witnessing the infamous Janet Jackson performance at the Super Bowl half-time show. I believe it is more than relivent today.  Please take a read.

“I’ll have you naked by the end of this song.” Most of us know where that line comes from; it’s that famous line from the Justin Timberlake song “Rock Your Body.” If you weren’t familiar with the song prior to the Super Bowl you certainly were after that half time show. Yes we all saw it: Justin Timberlake revealing Janet Jackson’s right breast after singing those very words. Oh my! Oh my! Where is the media headed? Many of us would say down the gutter and meanwhile the rest are cheering it on.

For many teenagers, television has almost always been this racy, leaving us desensitized. But it is very important for us to take the initiative and view all TV programmes critically. Think about it: how many times do you see people dancing around with one breast uncovered in real life? Remember the MTV music award incident with Britney, Madonna and Christina? The last time I checked, pretending to be a lesbian was a lame attempt at reviving your career. However it ended up working for Britney and Madonna which goes to show that along with the media, society’s heading in a “dirty” direction. If Celebs have to sing part nude and pretend to be homosexual on prime time TV to boost ratings it is a clear indication that the industry is getting desperate.

You’re probably thinking, “if you don’t like the heat then get out of the kitchen.” The problem is that lately these occurrences have been taking place during family programming. Take my experience with the latest Super Bowl half time show: there I was sitting next to my little brother, (my parents on the sofa nearby,) the song’s ending and Justin sings, “I’ll have you naked by the end of this song,” and yonk! There goes half of Janet top. It took me five minutes to pick my jaw up off the floor. It was the MTV music awards all over again. However, this time, my brother was watching my idol, Justin, getting Janet naked at the end of his song. There goes another generation of desensitized youth. Where and when will we draw the line?

Most TV shows today are saturated with what used to R-rated scenes. Meanwhile we wonder why so many teen are pregnant or have STDs. Remember the good old days of “Family Matters,” “ Fresh Prince” or “Saved By The Bell”? Well I do and that was some great television. Funny programmes: no nudity, no posers and yet, there was some provocative dialogue. However sometimes I wonder if we are the ones who encourage or even demand this racy television. When I first heard “Rock Your Body,” I wondered about what the video would look like: nudity, no nudity. I’m sure we all wondered what would follow that infamous last line.

The moral of the story is to watch with a critical eye. Don’t be sucked in by flashy, trashy messages and don’t be afraid to say how you really feel about these issues. If you feel uncomfortable then change the channel, because the truth of the matter is, compared to TV reality has a lot less cleavage.

~ by amytalk on February 5, 2006.

One Response to “Super Bowl Flashback: The Realities of the Media Today”

  1. I just find stuff like this funny. I mean, the worst thing that comes of it is that Justin Timberlake, a guy who probably just wants to have fun and dance around, offended a wonam. That’s how I see it. The problem is our cultural acceptance of men offending women, and that is a problem. As for cleavage on TV, look at Europe. They don’t seem to have a problem with it. We tend to be so wound up in issues that don’t really matter here that we forget about real abuses and inhumanities in our first world. Drop it I say.

Leave a Reply

 
